Get Adobe Flash player

 Fig.1. The Notes of the DiatonicMajor Scale

-The Diatonic Major Scale is the scale we are all familiar with.

It is the scale most of us learned in school that goes:
Do Re Mi Fa Sol La Si Do

Let’s review the Diatonic Major Scale.

Diatonic-> 7 tone (8 tone with the octave repeating “Do” tone at the end)

Major -> From the chromatic intervals W-W-H-W-W-W-H.

Scale -> A set of musical notes ordered by pitch.

-It is a 7 note scale and spans one Octave. Do – Si with Do repeating at the end to bring resolution to the scale.
That is to say It starts on Do and ends on Do (the same note only one Octave higher in pitch).

-It may start on any of the 12 Chromatic Scale notes and always follows the specific pattern of intervals being:
Whole – Whole – Half – Whole – Whole – Whole – Half
(Where Whole (W) is a Full tone of 2 frets  and Half (H) is a Semitone of 1 fret).

-Take starting on the “A” note For Example:
The Chromatic ascending notes are: A – A# – B – C – C# – D – D# – E – F – F# – G – G# – A
(each of these steps is a half note or half step and is written: H-H-H-H-H-H-H…).
The “A Major scale” is therefore: A – B – C# – D – E – F# – G# – A following:
W   W   H    W   W  W  H
Do-Re-Mi- Fa-Sol-La-Si-Do

This pattern (series of intervals) sets it as the Major Scale (as apposed to, say, the Minor Scale for example).

Quiz: What sets a Scale as a Major Scale?

Leave a Reply

GFT Categories

Join: GFT “VIP Lessons””

Pick Position when Strumming

GFT Web Picks